Investor or trader?

quaid

Hi all.

I am a newbie here. And I think I could qualify as an investor and not a trader. I have read up some stuff, and seem to think that I would like to hold positions for the mid-term. A couple of weeks maybe. So I tend to go long/short seeing the long-term trend. I have been trying out IG Markets (demo) and always use a stop, however, a 10 pip swing and the position is closed.

What am I doing wrong here?

1. Using the wrong platform? If yes, what should I be using?
2. Wrong strategy? Should the stops be further out? Should I buy options, rather than spot?

Apologies if this has been covered before and thanks for your responses.

Happy trading.

10 pips on what market? 10 pips doesn't sound like much leeway for any market on a mid-term basis.

Thanks quaid. I very rarely if ever trade forex but plenty of people trade successfully through IG so I suspect the platform isn't broke so don't throw it out for now. and maybe its not the instrument - if you can trade you can trade anything.

You might know the following to the n'th degree of detail in which case my apologies but I think its worth setting out some basics -
EUR to USD at last night's close was 1.435 but on e.g. Finspreads this is offered at pip of 0.0001. So their price for this pair is 14350. You should understand that if you trade this at only £1 per point, that represents an investment of £14,350. You could lose this on a long if you didn't set a stop and the price dropped to zero: that's bad but, of course, as the price can rise without limit, there is no limit to your potential loss on a short.

(I have tried this with people at work who are not in the markets in any way - £1 a point they say, that sounds fine, let's do it. Then they realise that a pound a point on the FTSE is still five thousand quid and they go pale and start walking away).