Article Interview with Stock Trader Richard Joyson (Mr Charts)

T2W Bot

Staff member
Dec 19, 2004
PM: = Paul Mullen (Interviewer)
RJ: = Richard Joyson (Mr Charts)
PM: What markets do you trade and what do you do?
RJ: I trade almost entirely U.S. shares on a day trading basis. I’m in trades for really anything from half a minute to as long as two or three hours. So, there isn’t an average length of time that I’m in a trade. I’m in a trade as long as it’s going my way, and if I get a signal to exit the trade, I take the signal. If the signal comes a minute after I enter, then I exit. If a signal doesn’t come for another two hours, then that’s when I exit.
Basically, I trade the U.K. afternoon, (which is the U.S. morning). Occasionally, I trade in the evening, but generally not. I used to trade the evening and the evening only, when I was a dentist in practice but I packed in dentistry many years ago now, and I trade fulltime. Before that, I was trading the evenings only and on my afternoon off. But, I enjoyed it so much that I eventually...
Continue reading...

Last edited by a moderator:

Jun 19, 2005
An excellent article with some very sound advice - i wish I'd known some of Richard's basics when I started out. Interesting to see that, as in my own case, it was Maggie Thatcher that got him started.

I commend Richard for being generous enough to donate the learning he has acquired over the years - a true gentleman!

Last edited:

barjon

May 6, 2003
please note that this thread is about discussing the article - all posts outside this topic have been deleted.

jon

Omoh101

Feb 12, 2009
I particulary like some of the points he raised in his advice to beginners -" ...It helps if they basically understand the rudiments, understand what candles are, what support and resistance are, etc. Those rudiments of TA are freely available on the web. No-one should pay for that....."