Best spread betting broker

jamessk

Hi,

I am getting into spreadbetting, I've been using ETX Capital for a few months as they have a practice account.

Can anyone tell me the best spread betting platform/broker to use?? Recommendations with your reasons would be much appreciated.

I am only a beginner and will not be trading massive amounts of cash.

Thanks
JK

JK
This gets answered all the time on T2W.

There's plenty of firms out there to take your pick from. I work for two - Spreadex and ShortsandLongs. The latter is more geared for low staking clients and beginners.

Forget that for a moment though. what is it you are looking for? what products do you trade? what kind of stakes? is spread more imprtant or how much you need to fund by? Why would you not open through ETX?

Goose

if you want an account that lets you put lowstake trades down, you can use either iii.co.uk - u get £100 free when u open the acc, or ig index...they let you do like 50p sometimes less for 8 weeks i think its..on alot of products.

Thanks Guys!! Much appreciated...

I have started an account on ETX but the spreads are not that great and the minimum stake is £1. Another thing I've noticed is the realtime - its doesn't seem that real... seeing as I have bloomberg next to me.
I like to have a flutter on mainly stocks, indices and futures.

Ideally I would like a firm which allows low stakes, has decent spreads and

Also from my understanding, spread bets can be placed when the underlying market is closed... A lot of spread betting firms will not allow this (while the market does) are they any spread betting firms that you know of which allow this??

Thanks again!!

I hope you mean a bloomberg terminal and not the TV channel. It drives me nuts when our clients say the prices don't match the TV!

No excuse for not matching a bloomberg terminal though. Except for daily indices which are priced off the futures.