Why is it always Graduates ?

rogerha

I have been an amateur trader for about 2 years now, I comitted to it for one year full time (self-funded, self-taught, and working from home), however whilst I recovered my account to break-even after my initial and inevitable failures, I never was funded well enough to continue doing it full time and generate a 'consistant' salary.

I am marginally profitable now, not hugely but the most important thing is that I only trade part-time since I had to go back to full-time employment, and I make enough money from trading to keep me trading.

I am soon to have some extra money available (probably about £20k), and am seriously thinking that I would like to go back to it full time, maybe with an arcade, and some training to fill in the blanks.

It just strikes me as very dissapointing that everybody wants 'Graduates' with a few exceptions. I have tried many business ventures in the past, and I have spent quite a lot of time now in various Futures markets. I am 31 (no spring chicken but hardly past it), and I have a good head for risk and discipline.

I know I can do it, I have made the innevitable mistakes, lived to tell the tale, and I still have an enourmous passion for it. Has anybody else got to this stage in their trading careers ? How easy did you find it to carry on ? Does anybody have any recommendations as the best next step for me ?

I don't think I know it all by a long shot, but I have a solid grounding, and I am sure I can do it well, with a little more 'mentoring'.

£20k is enough to go fully self funded as an "own accounter" with most Arcades. You should think about approaching an Arcade and finding out about what options you have for being trained in their "in house" methods if you were to trade your £20k with them.

Unless of course you are already happy with your trading methods, in which case its just a matter of deciding which arcade provides services most appropriate for you.