Graduate career advice required!

mpat89

Hi,

I am currently a final year undergraduate Maths student, I am on track for a 2.1. I'm 20 years old and I really feel my passion is trading, I spend countless hours in front of the screen trying to find edges that I can apply to the markets. I have tried out stocks and currencies. My long term UK equity trades have worked out well, however, for me, I do not like this time-frame and like to be doing something everyday. I have tried various tactics with currencies but remain strictly break even. More recently I have begun trading a trend following system on the DJIA 30 stocks, I have spent a lot of time developing this myself and it can be applied to most high volume stocks and currencies. So far so good however I've only been trading it since 10th Feb and personally feel I need at least a year to know if the system is a winner.

I feel I that I have some deep down desire to develop a "mechanical" system, i.e. a set of rules by which to trade. If I had the past performance to know I was capable of doing this for a living, this is a path I would certainly follow. At the same time I also have the desire to sit in front of the screen all day, waiting for setups and going for it. I always follow strict money management rules. I have tried this approach in the past and kept record of all my trades so I could look back to search for mistakes and learn from them.