Hello (Newbie) / Career Advice

Muru

Hello there,

I just joined this forum therefore i am not totally sure if i am in the right place for advice.

Anyway here is my story.

My name is Dan and i am 24 years old (soon 25 this month arghh) who rest asides in
London UK

i have graduated from university last year obtaining a second degree in Software systems for the Arts and media. Prior before that i graduated in my first degree for computer science.
Basically i done two fast track BA and Bsc degrees and passed.

The problem now is that once i finished last year i sudden had a change of career path.
instead of pursuing acting and filming i decide that i wish to create a career in finance.
as now i am really passionate about finance since i have had some experience working in media and its not my cup of tea anymore and i found what floats my boat.

overall the ideal job i want within finance is something dealing investment or asset management in the future. however i was told and from little research that the best way to start is by becoming a trader or stock broker first to understand the markets and then move on to investment management.

Taking this advice i decide to try and phone up all the trading firms and stock brokerages i could find in london and applied to investment banking graduate schemes.

Grad scheme where unsuccessful

Stock brokerage firms did not pay any attention to me and stated they dont offer work experience even for free and i dont have experience.

As for the trading firms i got a few interviews lined up be i never went to them due to the fact all of the firms i called were proprietary trading and from what i gather you need to have your on capital to trade( something i dont have) Correct me if i am wrong.

At present i am taking a CISI certificate in Securities and FSA regulation to gain a better understand about the industry.