stop loss statistics

emmanuel forozis

Hello, I am a newbie here, but have been reading the posts for 6 months or so, I have been sb'ing the dow futures with Ig for about 11 months now, I have reached my initial goal of minimum 15 pips a day (inluding 4 pip spread)so 9 net,for the last 4 months, yes I know its too early to guage, but thats all I have to go bye considering I havnt been at it for so long.
The question I have is... in the beginning after reading and reading and reading !!! I gathered that discipline is the name of the game, as far as your strategy, stop losses ,and human reactions etc... after researching my logs over and over, I have found that my stop losses did me much more harm than good, I even tried 2 months putting them back 10 points further, saw a 8% winning % difference, then these last 4 months I decided to go about it without a stop loss, and get out of my trade when my charts and mind told me I am out of this "dead trade", this is where I have been reaching my goal.The problem I am facing is ,I am not comfortable although I am more successful now. I mean all the books, most professionals, all the seminars all told me stop loss is a must to succeed. I cant be the one who is right trading for just 11 months, and these pro's who have been at it for years and years are wrong. So I am timid and find myself being less agressive having this in the back of my mind. I would bet 3 contracts ($60) and now I bet 1 contrat ($10), I think I am trying to justify that I am on a winning streak that will turn around and burn me without stop loss. Ofcourse this goes in the psyche of trading , and maybe I need to work on that more, but just knowing I am doing something that professionals preach not to do dosnt sit well with me. Anyone have this problem? solutions? thank you, and great site.