Some basic questions

shadeed

Complete beginner with background in sports spread betting and fixed odds trading (via betfair etc). Looking to get into stock/share price trading and would like some very basic feedback on the following (please include explanations for any technical jargon!) :-

1. How/where do I trade? (I don't mean how do I trade successfully - I see lots of advice on here - what I mean is what are the mechanics of it - in basic simple terms)

2. Where do i go for charting software? (free or cheap please)

3. Where can I access historical share price detail (daily highs/lows, open, close etc)?

4. How do i know in advance when Companies are announcing figures which may affect the price?

Cheers in advance

Hi

1. Not sure what you mean by your first question? Do you mean how do you interpret price action?

2. Lycos.com do pretty cheap charts. Otherwise someone like www.sierrachart.com , but you also need a price feed - from about $20 a month, depending on what market/data you want.

3. Historical data - something like www.bigcharts.com, www.inverline.com or again lycos.com

4. Depends which market you are after as to where you go for this : GNI do some free daily reports sent out pre-market on Europe and the US, so try thier website. Maybe something like advfn.com? Or www.reuters.co.uk (or .com) Others members may have other suggestions.

Here's some other useful links:

http://stockcharts.com/index.html

http://www.decisionpoint.com

http://www.incrediblecharts.com/technical/easy_guide.htm

RR

Ok - so I get myself some charting software + feed, develop a trading strategy, open an account with someone like IB.

Next basic question -
Say I am trading shares in a ftse company. Presumably if I think it is going to rise I simply buy then sell when/if the price goes up.
Say I take a view, based on my analysis of the charts, that the price is going to fall. How do I profit from that?