Some basic forex questions

martinrue

Hi all - I'm pretty new to forex and I just had two basic questions that I'd love some insight on, if anyone doesn't mind :)

1). As I understand it, forex is an open market, so there are many OTC exchanges and the price may vary between each one. How, then, does the overall exchange rate get determined? Is it some kind of average from the main exchanges?

2). My experience with trading has been with SB firms, and I understand how these work in terms of them being the market-maker. Further, I'm realising that an alternate option that gets away from the conflict of interest issue is to use an ECN. My question is: isn't an ECN just another company supplying you prices, where they could provide slippage etc? Or does an ECN work a different way that prevents the bucket-shop kind of goings-on?

Thanks in advance guys, any help would be welcome :)

Hi Martinrue.

Hope this helps:

'Since the foreign exchange market is not centralized, exchange rates can vary from one broker to another. Traders are mainly able to enter the foreign exchange market through two types of brokers: market makers (MM) and electronic communications networks (ECNs).

Quote Generation

MM Brokers – Market makers set both the bid and the ask prices on their systems, display them publicly on their quote screens and stand prepared to make transactions at these prices with their customers. Generally these are in line with what most of the broker’s own liquidity providers are offering them but they can deviate from “norm” at times. Also, the quotes are typically smoothed and do not show every tick change in the market.