Sample Size

milesy

Well I've been testing systems and looking for a trading plan for a couple of years now without any real success.
I usually look at 5 minute timeframes on the US and UK futures and am looking for something that gives a 60% + win rate with stop equalling target (around 10 ticks /pips). Alternatively I have looked at stuff with 15 tick stop and 10 tick target and looking for 70% plus win rates.
Now and then I've come up with signals that look interesting and started gathering some stats on them as they occur as well as going through historical charts and seeing how the signal fares over different market conditions.
Recently I have been testing a simple macd crossover system that showed some potential on the ftse. At a sample size of 150 trades using 10target 15 stop I was showing a consistent 70 to 70% win rate. Over a sample size that large I thought that I had something.... I carried on testing and once up to 250 trades my equity curve was break even.
Just a reminder that when you test something make sure the sample size is big enough.... how big? I 'm not sure yet and that's something I'll be giving a lot of thought and study to before I go live.
Something that may hold some truth : trading on larger hourly or daily timefames may need smaller sample sizes than trading on 3 or 5 min simply because larger timeframes are taking more of the noise out of the Market , thus signals being more reliable.
I am very interested in other Traders thoughts on signal sample sizes before going live,
Cheers,
Milesy

You seem to be looking for the holy grail. I would have thought any sample size large enough would give the results that you show. Non of my business but 2 years of just looking and not trading (or demo trading?) seems a very long time.