New noob, looking for longer term traders help

noob_trader

New to the forum, just wanted to stop by and introduce a bit.

First off, as my user name suggest, I am a noob, I have slightly less than a years experience in trading (real or paper money) in the markets. With that said, over the short period of time, I do have substantial amount of time in reasearch, education, and charting (4+ hrs a day). I currently day to shorter term swing trade, while it is fun and slightly profitibale at times, I dont have luxury of sitting at home and "day trading." I have a standard 8-5 job, and when times are slow, I can fire off a trade, or get a quick scalp. However, I find that most of what I chart (hours of charting) ends up being missed opportunities, due to my 8-5 job. So through my journey of trading and investing, I would now like to focus on learning longer term time frames. I would then like to intergrate a longer term style, and see how that fits with my life vs the shorter/day trading. So I would like any advice, or thoughs from the longer term swing and position traders on this forum. Also, do you guys find any particular indicator works better on the weekly and monthly charts? Also, do you implement some of the standard MA's like the 20, 50, 100, 200, ect, on weekly and monthly charts. I currently only use EMA's on daily and hourly charts, and prefer the stochastics, some MACD, and pivot points for the shorter term trading. This goes on top of the standard classical stuff like patterns, lines, candlesticks, maybe some FIB. I dont much get into EW, as I usually cant get a good read, but other people do. I like Gann, but dont trade off of his work, with the exceptions of the percentages. The astro guys are cool too, but not for me. I dont mess with the penny or over the counter stuff. I always stick to the common sense names and generally decent companies for stocks, play with the indices, and a few commodities. Stuff with good liquidity. I have some experience with