EUR/USD with IB TWS

heidel

Hi

I am totally new to spot FX trading and I have questions and I appreciate that someone can help me with some answers.

1. I am using IB TWS platform setup with Ideal Pro for EUR/USD. Why or what is the reason for spot fx not showing the last price on my IB TWS execution platform? Is this the standard for trading spot FX without the last price shown?

2. I also noticed the Ask price and Bid price on the top right cornor with a small live updating figure on my TWS platform. Why is it there and what is it use for?

3. I think I came across an article that says when trading spot FX, we can't buy at bid and we can't sell at ask. Is this correct? If so, what is the reason? I know I trade ES futures, I can buy at bid and sell at ask price.

Thank you.

heidel said:
Hi

I am totally new to spot FX trading and I have questions and I appreciate that someone can help me with some answers.

1. I am using IB TWS platform setup with Ideal Pro for EUR/USD. Why or what is the reason for spot fx not showing the last price on my IB TWS execution platform? Is this the standard for trading spot FX without the last price shown?

2. I also noticed the Ask price and Bid price on the top right cornor with a small live updating figure on my TWS platform. Why is it there and what is it use for?

3. I think I came across an article that says when trading spot FX, we can't buy at bid and we can't sell at ask. Is this correct? If so, what is the reason? I know I trade ES futures, I can buy at bid and sell at ask price.

Thank you.

Hi Heidel,

Since no one else has answered you I thought that I would have a go:

I don't have TWS in front of me as I write this but the key different between something like ES and spot forex is that the former is an exchange traded instrument so there is a single point at which all the trading occurs. Spot forex on the other hand has no single market place: instead you trade with a counter-party who will quote you a two way price.