how to got myself a trader job?

dealer30

Hi guys,

I am a derivatives dealer for 8 months(that's all the finance experience i have) and i have a master degree in Finance.

Now I really want to find a new job and to be a trader. Any suggestions where and how to get a job in an big investment banking company? I have sent my CV to a agent(3 weeks ago) in City and they haven't got me any interviews so far. so I want to know where have I done wrong and how to make it correct? Are they not like a female trader?

By the way, I heard that trader has to work really long hours(12-14 hours a day), can someone explain to me does that affect your family life? and what is the reason a trader has to work so hard?

Any questions will be appreciated, guys! And pls don't laugh if my questions sounds silly!

Thanks!

you could try checking www.efinancialcareers.com and www.cityjobs.com instead of just sitting on your ar-se and waiting for a recruitment agent to earn a commission.

Working at an IB isnt really trading, you need to decide if you want to work for a firm or be a trader, backed or otherwise. Investment banking and proprietary trading are two whole different kettles.

If you have the potential to be a good trader, being female will not be a hindrance at all, I assure you. big boobs would be a definate bonus, however.

the reason why prop traders work 12-14 hours is because to be a truly good trader means capitalizing on every possible opportunity - and obviously, the only times you can cash in on a good trading opp is when the market is at its most active, which would be, err.. when its open, which is from 7am till much later than you really ever want to stay in the office.

dealer30 said:
By the way, I heard that trader has to work really long hours(12-14 hours a day), can someone explain to me does that affect your family life?

err... depends if you have a family. Doesnt affect mine, coz its just meeee! :cheesy: