What on earth do I do with Sharescope now ?

overgrowth

Hi folks,

I'm new to the game of regular position/swing trading and wondered if you'd be so kind as to answer some questions.

I've recently subscribed to the Sharescope EOD software, which looks great and is very easy to find your way around. However, even after reading tons of books on TA, I'm a bit overwhelmed by the charting options available. Ideally, I would like to initially home in on FTSE 100 companies only and would be looking to buy or sell based on TA triggers.

1) When looking at a candlesticks chart for example, how do you know what date range to select ? I'm looking at being in and out in a matter of days or at most in say 3 weeks. - should I only look at 3 week charts ?

2) I would probably select RSI, MACD and MA's as confirming indicators, though are there much better ones to use (there's such a huge choice) ?

3) To check the chart triggers do I need to select each share every night and look at the chart (I'm not near a screen in the day so I'll need to place and close spread bets at market open) ?

Many thanks.

Hi, and welcome.

overgrowth said:
I would like to initially home in on FTSE 100 companies only
Probably a good move, particularly if you're spread-betting.

overgrowth said:
should I only look at 3 week charts ?
Not sure what you mean by "3 week charts". Not trying to be "funny", but what's a 3-week chart? Possibly you mean "look at only 3 weeks of the daily chart"? (Sharescope EOD is just daily charts, yes?). My answer is no; it always helps to look additionally at longer timeframes than you think you're going to need.

overgrowth said:
I would probably select RSI, MACD and MA's as confirming indicators