What happens when there is no trend?

kagein

Do most trading systems work when the market is trending in either direction?
What happens when theres no clear trend, no trading until there is ?

Depends which timeframe you're conducting business from & what type of system or strategy tools you're utilizing.

One persons range is another persons trend.

Attachments

• eurgbpa.jpg
    eurgbpa.jpg
    43.8 KB · Views: 649
  • eurgbpb.jpg
    eurgbpb.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 488

In my view that is not correct. There are loads of approaches that work by shorting at resistance and buying at support. However, there is strong evidence to show that markets trend only around 30% of the time. So if you are a trend trader then don't trade when it is not trending and it really is that simple.

Paul

What Trader333 said. I am a trend trader. I just cannot trade successfully when it's ranging, so it's best to sit on my hands. Don't feel you have to be in a trade every day. That will kill your account.

Wheres Wally ? :)

If you can distinguish between trend and non trend, then ...... ? :D

Maybe just keep watchin charts for a few months.... mark up perhaps 3 stages, the begining of a trend, the middle and the end of a trend........ ? what do you notice? what can you see, I dunno , I mean you might see something different, behaviour at the sections.......

Do all that with hindsight then slowly in realtime you might begin to see, and think, stage 1, stage 2 stage 3...... or I cant see any bloody stages, therefore its rangebound at the mo or gyrating waiting for news maybe etc. ,

maybe look at the hi and low of the previous days action and see if a trend is there, find the trend.... a bit like wheres wally :)

what do you think , make sense ?

good luck mate....

Ampro is probably right about a trend, and Trader333 is right about the occurrence of a market trend.