vwap - Formula

TheBramble

Legendary member
Grey1 posted a formula for calculating the upper/lower vwap bands

"1) Deduct LOW from the HIGH of the day
2) divide this by 2.... we call this Maximum permissible deviation or MPD for simplicity ..."

...but what is the formula (TS/Metastock - whatever) for calculating the vwap itself?

See this link for Investor RT from which you may be able to translate into others - this is a general indicator weighted average and should be applied to volume in this instance
http://www.linnsoft.com/tour/techind/iwa.htm

Alternatively you may wish to look at value area indicator and try to program that
http://www.linnsoft.com/tour/techind/va.htm

(Have to say this one's a pig Ok if your into means etc)

Plus a crib sheet on Formula tokens
http://www.linnsoft.com/tour/techind/forumla.htm

Hope this helps as I have no TS knowledge
Ron

Last edited:
Tony,

Are you asking what the basic formula is or what the code is to display it in TS ?

The basic formula is:

VWAP = price x volume/ Total Volume

and this is for every price traded during the day. Some people calculate it by taking the average price per minute x volume / Total Volume

Paul

I was after ANY formula on the basis I could work it round to what I needed so thanks all.

However, to display on ANY charting package, presumably you have a seperate axis for the vwap, so how do you combine with the price to show their relative positions?

If VWAP = price X vol / Total Vol then the VWAP is going to be A LOT less (value wise) than the current price...?

I am not a statitstician so it is best for Grey1 to answer but as price can and does deviate from vwap both up and down then this cannot be quite how it works.

Paul

What I meant Paul, is that apart from the first bar (regardless of your timeframe) where last vol = total vol (for the day), from then on, the last vol / total vol is going to be getting smaller and smaller.