Time Frame for Trades

Npard23

39 2
What are the average holding periods that fellow traders on the forum have for your trades? With a variety of strategies I expect them to be varied but skewed to be shorter than the long only retail crowd.

For me I'm a medium term position trader that combines both fundamental and technical analysis for investing decisions. My average trade length is 70 days but my holding period can be anywhere from 1 week to 1 year.

Pat494

Legendary member
14,621 1,578
Typically under 5 mins, but I might stretch to 20 mins for a 'buy-and'hold'. :)

Hope the OP has something interesting to do to fill the time gaps ?
Things are going really slowly for me by 1 hour's time.

Npard23

39 2
Hope the OP has something interesting to do to fill the time gaps ?
Things are going really slowly for me by 1 hour's time.

With a portfolio size of 20-40 stocks/futures I still make 4-10 trades a week (counting getting stopped out as an exit). Don't worry about time gaps, I need the time to do my research properly and meetings for other aspects of the business.

marketshark

2 0
Anywhere from a few seconds to a few weeks.. Depends on what strategy I'm using at the time.

westernforce

246 44
I's all relative I 'spose, but I'm a bigger picture trader, so for me it's the longer time frames. That said, I'll hold trades from days to weeks, although I do some non "trading" stock investments that are running for years.

drtro

216 21
Usually anywhere from 10 seconds to throughout the day. I rarely hold overnight. I never hold over weekends. However I began investing recently. I've had various ETFs held for over six months. Mostly various sectors. Then some commodity and bond ETFs. Up 12.4%. Anybody recommend a good China or emerging market ETF?

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!