Tightest Spreads for Spread betting

whoelsebutme

Hi everyone
I am a new member of T2W.
I was working as a junior trader at an investment bank in London, and got laid off recently. I am very interested in trading, but have not had a lot of experience yet. My risk limit is a bit low as well, while I am giving trading a try, which is why I don't want to start trading futures yet as they are "bigger" than what I am willing to risk per tick.
I have turned to spreadbetting for now, mainly because of the "small" risk you can take per tick with most contracts.
I am most interested in trading Bunds (because I was a rates trader at the bank), S&P, Dow, Dax, FTSE, Gold, and a few forex pairs (EURJPY, GBPUSD, EURUSD). I was wondering if any of the experienced members here could suggest which spread-betting firm would be the best for my purpose. I used IGIndex first, but realized their spreads widen to as much as 4 ticks for Bunds and even Schatz, which is shocking as it's 8 times the normal spread for Schatz. Now I am mostly using CityIndex as their spreads are fixed and they also allow 1 pound per point on indices, whereas IG asks for at least 2 for Dax, etc. and 10 for S&P! Recently I have read some posts about GFT and want to give it a try, but even they have 3 ticks in Bunds. So basically I am asking if there's any decent firm out there that provides tighter spreads than GFT? I am even open to CFDs, but seems like even their spreads are same as Spreadbetting. Obviously, I would love to go for Direct Market Access, were it not for my low risk profile while I am just starting out on my own. If I am successful in trading in the medium term, I would def move to something like Interactive Brokers.
Thank you very much for your help!

If you get filled, then great... no point having tight spreads if they shift the price 10 pips before filling you or they lock you out because it's become suddenly volatile.

Whoelse,