Spread betting platforms for students

Ugas

I heard that when you want to open a spread betting account on several platforms (IG, City Index) that you need to have a minimum salary of £14.000

Is this true? I have a salary of £0 as I'm a student - the money I do get in is around £6000 (student finance). So should I put that as a replacement of "salary" (if they accept anything under 14.000)

Cheers for your help guys. :)

I heard that when you want to open a spread betting account on several platforms (IG, City Index) that you need to have a minimum salary of £14.000

Is this true? I have a salary of £0 as I'm a student - the money I do get in is around £6000 (student finance). So should I put that as a replacement of "salary" (if they accept anything under 14.000)

Cheers for your help guys. :)
Hi Ugas,
Welcome to T2W.

In answer to your question I've highlighted in blue, the answer is an emphatic no! It's highly likely that you'll lose the money which, presumably, you need for your living expenses. If you open an account, just open a demo account and trade paper money - don't under any circumstances trade real money from the get go. If, and it's a massive if, you make paper money consistently over an extended period of time (this depends on the type of trader you are), then consider depositing the smallest amount you can and trading the smallest size that your broker permits.

Broadly speaking, I'd recommend you steer well clear of any type of trading until long after you've finished your studies. Why? Because to be successful at it will require a mammoth amount of your time and effort. That's time and effort which will impact either your studies, social life, or both. While you're student - stick to doing what students are meant to do: working hard (on your course) and partying hard. Sorry if all this isn't what you want to hear - but it's offered with the best of intentions and with your interests very much at heart.
Tim.

Last edited: