Potential new trader saying hello :)

Rippie

Hi all,

i am a potential new trader I think :) i have been interested in financial markets for a couple of years now but never really took the plunge.
Recently i got a bonus from work and some money back in tax (wohoo) that just sit in my daily bank account and do nothing. I figured i would take 25% of that and invest in a few stocks.
I do not yet know which ones but i will have a look around some British companies perhaps :)

anyway one question i do have is are CFD shares much worse than actual shares/stocks??

anyway one question i do have is are CFD shares much worse than actual shares/stocks??
Why not try spread betting rather than CFD? you will likely have the same broker doing both and the former is tax free

Why not try spread betting rather than CFD? you will likely have the same broker doing both and the former is tax free
Please excuse my ignorance but what is the difference between spread betting and CFD shares? I thought they were the same thing?
Buying an actual stock/share in coca cola and you pay tax on earnings and you get dividens.
i thought CFD shares where a derivative version of the share but you never actually own the actual stock.

Please excuse my ignorance but what is the difference between spread betting and CFD shares? I thought they were the same thing?
Buying an actual stock/share in coca cola and you pay tax on earnings and you get dividens.
i thought CFD shares where a derivative version of the share but you never actually own the actual stock.
Similar, in the sense that in both cases you will not own the stock. They are both derivative products, and are leveraged. Both allow you to trade either long or short. any broker offering CFDs will likely offer a spreadbet. A CFD however is taxable. you will pay tax on any profits, the same as physically buying the shares, you pay CGT on your gains.
a spreadbet is not taxable. any profit is tax free.