online/offshore broker help needed - plus ETF advice

Firestarter

Hello,

I'm very new to trading and have been reading up as much as I can on the forum which looks great. However, I have a feeling I've hit information overload so thought am asking for help.

With the oil prices currently as low as they are, I was looking at investing in an Oil ETF, and USO keeps springing to mind.

Which online/offshore broker would you recommend (was looking at Internaxx)?

Secondly, is an oil ETF a good idea, and is USO the best there is?
Am i right in thinking with an etf the price will just vary as the market does, so as the market price of crude rises, so will my money?

Thanks

Hello,

I'm very new to trading and have been reading up as much as I can on the forum which looks great. However, I have a feeling I've hit information overload so thought am asking for help.

With the oil prices currently as low as they are, I was looking at investing in an Oil ETF, and USO keeps springing to mind.

Am i right in thinking with an etf the price will just vary as the market does, so as the market price of crude rises, so will my money?

Thanks
Wouldn't you be better off trading crude futures, either US or Brent, on an MT4 broker who offers these instruments, like FXPro? Or on IGIndex, or ODLmarkets, you can spreadbet, which is more or less what you mention, gaining on the price movement (or losing!)

On FXPro the spread is reasonable, usually only 2 pips or even 1.5 sometimes. Spreadbetting oil, the spread is usually 5 or 6 pips, so it isn't really suitable for a scalper. Fortunately, oil tends to run quite decently when it moves so it absorbs the spread pretty well.

If you are new to this and particularly to oil trading, I recommend you to sign up for a demo account on FXPro and run your ideas past the market to see how you get on. Please don't use money for at least three months.

Good luck anyway.

Hello,

Thanks
2 questions...

Who says the price of oil is low right now?