Norton Internet Security 2004

smiley

Hello All

I've just updated to Nortons 2004 edition and my computers speed has greatly reduced. I'm not a techie but I thought that my computer was a good specification but when I'm browsing the net my CPU usage jumps to 100% and pages are taking forever to come up. Is there anything that I can do to quicken things up?

My computer specifiaction is as follows;

Intel Pent 4 with 2.6 GhzProcessor, 512 MB Ram, 120 GB Hard disk

Any help would be great.

Thanks

You shouldn't be running at 100%. you may have an infection.Try some online trojan scans.
Have you got Ad-aware and Spybot?

:confused:
oatman said:
You shouldn't be running at 100%. you may have an infection.Try some online trojan scans.
Have you got Ad-aware and Spybot?

Thanks for the quick reply. When I said that I wasn't a techie I guess that was an understatemet 'cos I've never heard of trojan scans or Ad-aware and Spybot. Can U point me in the right direction?

If your system is very clean then Norton should not really slow the system that much.....

there will be some slowness but nothing that you will notice with a spec like that....

I use same package and it is very good....

My computer has remained invisible on virtually all the tests that I have done online....

I have had the same problem. Reinstall Windows XP, the latest edition and don't use Norton, try another antivirus program.

//Carl

smiley said:
Hello All

I've just updated to Nortons 2004 edition and my computers speed has greatly reduced. I'm not a techie but I thought that my computer was a good specification but when I'm browsing the net my CPU usage jumps to 100% and pages are taking forever to come up. Is there anything that I can do to quicken things up?

Any help would be great.

Thanks

Alos try to refrain from installing two virus checkers and two internet protectors....

this will very surely muddle the issue...