Mathematics and Economics graduate 2.2 degre :( Need advice!

killjoy

Hi,

I am a graduate from warwick university I only could manage a low 2.2 :( I am quite sad over that... looking back I got 5 As (80% and above) in A level equivalents... but who cares

I am not a british citizen so thats a problem... as I need work permit in any company I want to apply I am interested in financial world (broking, asset management, investment banking, taxation)
Big companies need 2.1 and small companies which accept 2.2 degree need the person to be british citizen so I am in a fix

I have a moths work experience with an Indian asset management company... my role was based on sales... where I had to go to banks etc to tell them about our structured products so that they can further sell them to general public

I have CFA level 1 exam this December which I think will help me in finding a job...

what should I do? I don't think my father will sponsor me for a masters... as I proved to be a bad investment for undergrad...

how can I flip the situation to my advantage...?

Masters/ further education sounds good...u haven't said where you want to go? what you want to do? i.e asset management,sales and trading etc.
I am a student so wouldn't be able to answer ur questions fully but this wud help anyone else to answer ur questions.

I've found the most revealing question was, why do u want a job in the industry?

@cr196
masters sounds good to me as well... but I need to earn money by myself for that... so thats why I want a job... I cannot ask my family to sponsor me now...

I have nailed down one single profession... I am still contemplating many options such as a career as a portfolio analyst, fund manager, inter-dealer broker, fund researcher, wealth manager, financial advisor.