Graduate Career Advice Needed

Hedonism

I am a masters student at the European Business School, London, studying for an MSc in ‘Global Banking & Finance’ which I will be completing in March 2009. Prior to this I completed a BSc in ‘International Securities, Investment & Banking’ at the ICMA Centre, Reading University. These courses have allowed me to gain a strong understanding of both the theoretical and practical functions of the credit, equities and derivatives markets at an academic level.

I have always been interested in propietary trading (momentum/day/position) in equities. I did some self funded courses in technical analysis (at the traders university) 2 years ago and have been an active trader since then. I also have an investment portfolio I started in my 1st year at university. I would say I have a strong understanding in both fields of trading and investing.

The problem is I attained a 2.2 in my undergraduate degree (I was in a very rocky situation just before and during the exam period) which greatly affected my perforamance in several of the last exams though I had solid marks in my previous coursework and I have shown great strenghth in my MSc so far.

Is there any advice you can give me into strengthening (or beefing up) my CV to make it more attractive when applying for trading jobs. I understand that my 2.2 is going to hold me back a lot but I am determined.

I am currently looking at joining the STA (society of technical analysts) and completing their diploma program and also obtaining the SII Diploma in Investment Compliance (exempt from the module 1) in the next year.

I did an internship in my second year in finance and accounting (and credit control). Even though I enjoyed the first few weeks of this it wasn't demanding enough and became tedious and repetative. I believe a more fast-paced environment is suited for me.

Any comments and suggestions would be helpful.
Thanks.