Law Undergraduate - General Questions

JAWBrown

Greetings,

I'm a first year Law student with an interest in the economy and finance. I'm taking on extra-curricular study to familiarise myself with investment and the financial markets. I have a few questions that would further my research, if any of you would be so kind as to reply!

1. What job opportunities are there in the Investment/Finance sector for a graduate with a degree in a non-economic/business discipline?
  2. Am I at a disadvantage with a Law degree?
  3. How should I go about improving my employability?
  4. Can anyone provide a fairly comprehensive list of IB's that offer summer vacation schemes?
Any other general information or advice is more than welcome. Thanks.

1 lots
2 no
3 intern at ib's
4 www.thestudentroom.co.uk > then go to investment banking or use the search tool for internship

Concise and helpful, thanks. After I started this thread I did stumble across that section in the student room but wasn't able to find any advice, or anyone with experience, specifically related to Law graduates; I shall keep looking.

do you want to practice law within the financial sector? that's pretty lucrative provided you are good at it

You'd be surprised at the diversity of degrees at investment firms.

Apply for your uni investment club if possible and try to find ways to help out. Other things like volunteering etc will also help out (employers like people who have no fear of working and no gaps on the record).

Let me scronge up a website dedicated for university students getting into trading firms...

http://student2trader.com/

This will help somewhat, but I'd really aim for IB as a first choice.

wow they've updated the site a lot since I last read!

Anyhow, Good luck!

do you want to practice law within the financial sector? that's pretty lucrative provided you are good at it