indicators!! as useful as a polished turd

is price action better than indicators

• yes

Votes: 28 71.8%
  • no

Votes: 11 28.2%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
i know i am opening a can or worms here with many of you emotionally attached to your indicators. but have you ever considered using price action instead?

Hi - I'm pretty new to talking about this stuff with others so I hope I am not misusing terms or misunderstanding them. Please forgive me if I do.

My self learning has led my to believe that indicators are great at telling you what people used to think, and price movement at telling you how people are thinking (or reacting )now.

For me I use P&F as the basis of my trading strategy - I hope this is what you would term price action. I also gather indicators (some standard, quite a few adapted).

What I have been looking for (and hopefully found) are points where conflict in these occur and some expectation of the continued movement can be found. I have looked for positions where price action doesn't correspond with the previous thinking. From this I have devised parameters that tell me if it is more likely that the price will return to previous thinking or move further from it.

So for me both are necessary.

IMHO this is pretty stupid thread, but for those new to these parts, it is worth observing that Grey1 who is certainly one of the best traders around here makes extensive use of indicators (or rather time series analysis) as a guide to market cycles. Both intraday and for longer period swing or position trading.

IMHO this is pretty stupid thread, but for those new to these parts, it is worth observing that Grey1 who is certainly one of the best traders around here makes extensive use of indicators (or rather time series analysis) as a guide to market cycles. Both intraday and for longer period swing or position trading.