IG Index

fmahmood

Hi,

I am new to spread betting and trading in general.I opened an account with IG Index and am starting to learn technical analysis from a book.

Is there any recommendations and tips for a beginner?

trade small.

capital spreads have a free demo

oo and don't go lower than 1hr timeframes

thanks for the advice I wish i came here before I blew my capital.

I have been looking at FSTE 100 as it was going up, and US Light Crude Oil.

What kind of instruments do you recommend for a beginner? And what is a good strategy?
I must say it is a good buzz but nearly a heart attack when I lose money.

slow the game down.use higher time frames. aim for 100pt targets or at least 3:1 Risk reward ratio. demo trade. even start a log with demo trades on t2w with whatever strat you like. people soon respond with ideas for improvement.

You are certainly right about slowing the game down, £10 a point made some good money, then lost more.

would you recommend keeping trade open over a number of days?
and 50p per point? or lower?
I have applied for a demo account at Capital Spreads. but I think it might be better to use a real account, what do you think?

Anyone who starts trading spread bets at more than 10p a point for the first month or 2 is an idiot.

This assumes you're completely new to trading.

Anyone who starts trading spread bets at more than 10p a point for the first month or 2 is an idiot.

This assumes you're completely new to trading.

I totally agree, I can safely say I am that idiot...

I am going to start a clean slate in January. Do you recommend keeping trades open for a number of days? What kind of instruments do you recommend? Currencies seem too volatile.

Currently, I have a position open on BP Plc (JUN-11). opening position was 473.6, currently 475.01
P/L: +£7.05
I think this will go up by June to the levels before the big oil leak.