How long did you demo before going live?

celestial

Hi!

I Am quite new to this game and recently started my FX education.

How long would you recomend to trade demo acount before goning in with real money,

Or mabye I should rephrase the question; How long did it take for you guys before tradeing demo confidently and find strategies to aply on the FX market?

Cheers

not everyone paper trades or does demo first.
for example, lots of people start trading because they fancy a certain share is cheap, so they buy it.
that first trades leads to second, then a third, and so on....
its just that sometimes with trading you can just have a go and take it from there

as long as it takes,keep daily records,weekly records monthly records if needed.ask yourself have i got a long term profitability strategy,if not do not commit a single penny to the market

why pay for harsh lessons when it can be free with patience

I have been trading on demo accounts for maybe 3 or 4 weeks before I put in some real money. During this time I have tested different trading platforms until I found one that I liked most.

In my opinion, trading with real money makes more sense than trading for months with virtual money only. The mental aspect of trading is totaly different when it comes to real money. Also the difference between demo account and real account is huge - think of slipage, order execution and requote/unfilled orders.

If I lose $10.000 of virtual money - so what? I simply reload my account. But if I lose $500 of real money, that's something completely different. Fear and greed are two emotions that every trader has to cope with. But this, in my opinion, can be learned best with real money only.

That does not mean that I encourage everybody to take his or her savings and put it into a trading account. Instead, I suggest to start small. With only $100 to $500 and trade mini and micro lots. There are also brokers that offer cent accounts, so $100 will be displayed as $10.000 (cents) .