Eurostoxx strategy

euribor_tr4der

Hi,

I trade eurostoxx futures intraday. My trading style is to aim for 5 ticks per day, regardless of the size i am clipping.
I have often found it difficult to get 5 ticks per day in some periods of time. Im a consistent trader and dont have big down days often. A bad down day will mean down 5 ticks, generally its not more than that.

Now I was looking to revise my strategy. Instead of going for 5 ticks, I am going for 3 ticks. Because :-

- 3 ticks is easier to achieve than 5. Therefore greater chance of achieving.
- I am confident there are 3 ticks in the markets every day to be had, whether its a quite day or busy day.
- My down side stop would be 6 ticks, 1 bad day cancels out 2 good days. However i am confident that i can have more up days than down.
- I feel there is more chance of me making 3 ticks than loosing 6 ticks.
- I am a patient trader and wait for my trades instead if jumping in for the sake of it, being selective is a key strength for me. I am able to sit aside and wait for a trading opportunity.
- Eurostoxx is a very liquid market. You can trade up to 200 contracts atleast, without having to adjust your trading style. I clip 20's, so if i am achieveing my 3 tick target every day. Then theoretically it is possible to do it on 50 lots without changing anything.

Does anybody have anything to say about this strategy, or any ammendments I could make to it in order to improve ??

Thanks

Euribor_tr4der,

Stick to trying to get 5ticks instead of increasing size and taking 3 ticks. You mentioned in your post, 1 bad day would cancel out 2 good days based on a daily stop-out of 6ticks. This will make it harder to recover from a psyhcological and performance point of view. You obviously scalping for a tick or two, with many scratches.

Best to plug in ur trading stats into excel and analysis your results.

Euribor_tr4der,