Buying straddles

Iqbal

There are a lot of traders on this forum who sell options, I would like to start a discussion on actually buying straddles/ strangles as opposed to selling. Does anyone do this as their main form of trading ? what strategies do they use? Can it be consistently profitable?

I would appreciate any replies. Thank you in advance.

You may confidently assume that any option strategy is, in the long run, consistently losing due to transaction costs. According to options theory the only way to make money with options is with a trading strategy. You may of course disagree with options theory and insist that some options have a consistent edge. If you agree with options theory you have to know how to pick your entry and exit points. If you've no edge picking entry/exit points you've no edge trading options.

Iqbal

Buying straddles is not my main strategy but I have some limited experience. They look attractive as a strategy as "Whichever way the market moves I win". Silent trader is right no particular strategy in options has an inherent edge. This is just as true of trading futures or short to medium term stock trading. Buying has no particular edge over selling without taking a market view. In options this is more extreme due to the costs of dealing.

In buying a straddle the view you are taking is that the underlying will move one way or the other more than the market thinks it will and within the time constraints of your chosen contracts. Classic examples given are the run up to earnings or when big news is expected. But of course others in the market are capable of finding out when earnings anouncements will be. They will bid up the options prices prior to announcements. If they have not bid up the prices prior to an earnings release you have to ask yourself why.