Where to go from here.

sxu11

I posted this in reply to another post but maybe giving it its own thread will help.

Since I finished school last may its been a struggle breaking into the industry. Out of school I had 2 job offers one was at a prop shop which I turned down at the time thinking better offers would come along from more reputable firms, the other was a data entry position for a Bond trading firm - which forced you to sign documents stating you could not have a person trading account. A deal Breaker for me.

I have 6 years of personal trading experience, while I never was able to build a huge nest egg of money to trade on my own - (My trading profits always went to bills). I learned as much as I could about technical and fundamental analysis of markets. I read every relevent book I could find, studied charts endlessly, watched lvl 2 ticks from market open to close.

Then I got the bright Idea to make this a career by going to school. I figured I would get a degree and I could trade with someone else's money! So got a degree in Finance thinking it would open the necessary doors. I WAS WRONG. I am finding out most trading firms want candidates with mathematical degrees, or computer programming degrees.

The trading experience means little.

Now the only jobs being offered to me are in the financial sales/services sector which I absolutely loathe.

I would like to point out getting a degree has put me in the hole by about 20k, I have stayed active in the market swing trading other peoples money, nothing significant and only a few trades here and there when the chart dictates it. I cant make more then 3 round trips or short sell, which limits my activity greatly.

I started a full-time masters program just to delay the repayment of my previous college loans.

Maybe I havent been in front of the right person yet on an interview, I dont know. What I will say is trading is where I want to be, and I am not going to give up till I get there.