UK Options- good online data

mesuno

Hi Folks,

This is my first post here so i guess i should introduce myself. I'm a final year student about to hit the real world and start earning some money, so i'm doing a bit of research really into various investments.

Some stuff i've been reading has suggested writing covered call options as a good strategy for steady income with limited risk. Problem i'm having is that currently i can't afford to subscribe to a site that charges for live options data so I can do some 'dry runs' before I start.

Can anyone recommend such a site, or give any advice on how to go about the first trade?

(BTW I'm definitely NOT going to rush into stuff, and I know a fair a bit about assessing different underlying shares, I just want to find the raw data to look at)

Cheers

Mesuno

mesuno - you don't need a live feed to papertrade - the 20 min delayed prices on the LIFFE site (for the UK) or CBOE (for the US) will do you fine.

http://www.liffe-data.com/equityOptions.aspx

http://quote.cboe.com/QuoteTable.asp?TICKER=spx&ALL=0

Covered calls are a great way to generate income from a portfolio of shares already held. But the risks can be understated. A covered call has the same profit/loss profile as a naked put. Don't believe me? Draw the payoff diagram for each and compare them.

The true power of options comes in both buying and selling them is some coordinated strategy which can accentuate profits and limit potential losses. You really need to be able to swing trade shares successfully before you get too involved in options.

Read everything you can get your hands on, and papertrade some basic strategies - i.e. call spreads, put spreads, ratio spreads, backspreads, butterflies - and see how they work in practice.

Download the free software from Peter Hoadley to play your "what if?" games.

http://www.hoadley.net/options/LatestVersion.htm

good luck

Last edited: