Newbie to IB & Market Data Subscriptions

bigears

Hi,

Sorry if this sounds a bit basic and elongated.

I'm relatively new to this field and currently using ODL securities - broker to buy UK traded options (liffe) and have been reasonably successful. I have now decided to try IB to minimise on costs as IB do not charge commissions on traded options while ODL charges £15 a transaction, also the IB lot charges are a bit cheaper than ODL.

Now, on ODL I get FREE live prices for stocks (UK & US) & traded options, but on account opening with IB I was presented with choices for Market Data Subscriptions (please see attachment).

My questions:

1) £20 a month for the liffe market data - is this reasonable as I have this free with ODL? I guess these are what I need If I want to see prices on TWS when trading UK options ?

2) What is 'liffe market depth' ? is this like level II but for options?

3) What is 'Non-professional LSE Level I+' is this the normal live stocks prices?

4) If I do not subscribe to any, I guess I will get no prices at all, is this right (or will you get delayed prices)? How do they expect you to trade?

Many thanks for your help & patience.

Attachments

• DataFeeds.png
    DataFeeds.png
    10.2 KB · Views: 413
I dont trade options but I will attempt to answer your questions:

1) If you don not subscribe to any exchange then you cannot trade any instruments on it. So if you wish to trade Liffe instruments then you have to subscribe to Liffe

2) Market depth is as you have said

3) Yes and non professional means that you are not a brokerage yourself etc

4) No subscription = no prices at all and no ability to trade either

Paul

bigears said:

1) £20 a month for the liffe market data - is this reasonable as I have this free with ODL? I guess these are what I need If I want to see prices on TWS when trading UK options ?