Typical trainee trader compensation package at a prop firm

KnifeEdge

Hi guys, I have an interview in a couple weeks with a European prop trading firm in Hong Kong for a trainee trader position (i'm a fresh grad) and was wondering if anyone could gimme any info in regards to typical compensation for this type of position. I was asked to provide an expected salary during a preliminary screening phone call but i postponed it till the face 2 face since I didn't have enough information.

The firm I am interviewing with is similar to IMC, Optiver, All Options, and Tibra. As I am also looking at the bulge bracket banks I provided a range of 30-50k HKD/month which at the current exchange rate works out to about 46-77k USD/yr before bonuses. I know that typical prop firms would have a much lower starting salary and greater emphasis on performance based compensation.

Please if you have any experience with a comparable firm or just know anything about this topic please post as I am sure other members would appreciate this information as well.

... really any help would be appreciated

I'm not trying to just get free info without doing any work. I've just reached the limit of what I can find out on my own. I've heard of people who claim they've gotten a 100+ k/yrd b4 bonus position with Optiver but obviously that's not the norm. The reasonable range I've got it to is 46-77k USD/yr and was just hoping to find a few more data points.

If what i'm trying to do is frowned upon on this forum please let me know and I'll edit my posts but if you're gonna reply please reply in such a way that its constructive.

I don't think it's frowned upon, I just think it's pretty funny that someone applying for a role as a trainee would describe their pay as a 'compensation package' - unless you're expecting health insurance and stock options to be part of the deal, just call it what it is - how much you're going to be paid.