TradeStation Vs Metastock

McStay

I am a fairly new trader still learning the ropes .. I primarily trade index and commodities futures ..

Been using sharescope for a while, but find it too imited for my needs .. ie, its primarily a UK equities tool.

I am thinking of going for tradestation or metastock ..

I would prefer metastock b/c it is not bundled with a dealer account and can be purchased outright instead of leased ..

however, TradeStation seems more suited to my needs because I have some trading systems (that I have been impressed with ) in TS code off some books that I am very eager to play around with. So, TS seems to be taking the edge in my choice.

Please, can folks share their opinions on both software ? I am particularly keen to understand how easy it is to adapt a TS easy language code and code it in metastock code .. ( I am not new to software programming )

All posts will be much appreciated ..

McStay said:
I am a fairly new trader still learning the ropes .. I primarily trade index and commodities futures ..

Been using sharescope for a while, but find it too imited for my needs .. ie, its primarily a UK equities tool.

I am thinking of going for tradestation or metastock ..

I would prefer metastock b/c it is not bundled with a dealer account and can be purchased outright instead of leased ..

however, TradeStation seems more suited to my needs because I have some trading systems (that I have been impressed with ) in TS code off some books that I am very eager to play around with. So, TS seems to be taking the edge in my choice.

Please, can folks share their opinions on both software ? I am particularly keen to understand how easy it is to adapt a TS easy language code and code it in metastock code .. ( I am not new to software programming )

All posts will be much appreciated ..

Firstly, maintain an individual stance from your Broker, you may wish to change one day.