Tick & Trin

Marky Suree

4 0
trick & trin

Hi im new to trading can anyone explain how trick and trin indicators work or recommend a book/website that will, as i'm slightly confused about how they work .

thanks

TheBramble

Legendary member
8,394 1,170
I think you might mean $TICK .

Measures the number of NYSE stocks currently trading on an up-tick (higher transaction price than the preceding transaction) against those trading on a down-tick.

+/-300 = Neutral
+/-1000 = Excessively Bullish/Bearish.

TRIN (also known as ARM's Index)

Formula is:-

Advancing Issues/Declining Issues
Advancing Volume/Declining Volume

A rising TRIN is normally taken as short-term Bearish, falling TRIN is short-term Bullish.

HTH

rossored

2,103 56
btw, if you're completely new to trading, T&T probably isnt the best thing to start with.

Try getting into some basic TA first - use the First Steps Forum threads - then once you're a bit more up on things, delve a little deeper.

RR

stoploss please

Established member
780 10
Some thing to look at

Tick and Trin. I remenber asking about that. Rossored is correct learn basic TA first and then work out how to read price and volume. The Tick can then be used as a filter. I had a look at the Trin. Although it is a good tool, the Tick gives you much better readings. If any thing, the $Tick used in conjuction with the $Prem could be a better combination.

Attachments

• dow 5min237.png
    dow 5min237.png
    65.7 KB · Views: 774

BrianBrain

1 0
This is my first post here so excuse the simple question .

Where can I get the tick and trin in real time ?? Quote.com doesn't have real time even though it claims to be - there is a 15 min delay .
This link below seems to be realtime but my I can't use this at work because of firewall ! It works at home though .
http://www.snappytrader.com/ta/ticktrin.htm

My broker - Ameritrade - does not offer this at all .

Can anyone help ??
Thanks

demag

54 4
Tick!

Yes,