SB Bias!

rglenn

379 4
Does anyone knows a way of overcoming the opening bias that an SB company marks up/down the indices by.

Sometimes it can be around 30 to 40pts on an index especially the Dow.

Is there an SB company or broker whose spread is not so wide on the open price?

Any advice much appreciated.

al-motor

249 0
As u may know the cash is not traded on the open mkt or exchange- it is only the future -

But SBs do offer cash index trading, except that it is their interpretation of the cash ( using the futures) to give them an indication-

Therefore, any system based on the open of the Cash mkt is not really practical-

I would say, u are going to find the discrepency, whiever SB u use- But i could be wrong !!

TheBramble

Legendary member
8,395 1,170
If I understand the question correctly (and I'm a relative newbie, so it's quite possible I haven't) you're looking for a SB that doesn't make an untradeable spread on the indexes?

I use IG Index and although their 'version' of the cash price may not always be in line with the 'real' cash price, it does move pretty much in line with the underlying.

IG offer a zero bid/offer spread with a 4 point commission (6 for controlled risk).

Hope this helps.

rglenn

379 4
Thanks for that guys.

I'll have a look at IG index spreads and see how much they differ.

I notice that the Deal4free and finspreads don't take any trades on Eurostoxxe until 10 minutes after the markets open- I wonder why!!

Glenn

Experienced member
1,040 118
"Does anyone knows a way of overcoming the opening bias that an SB company marks up/down the indices by."

This is my understanding:-
A SB company is basically a single market maker operating their own rules. They have to protect themselves first thing from a potential flood of orders in one direction, just like many market makers do for equities.