Q re Pricing of crude oil future

options-george

Guest Author
Hi all,
a question regarding a trade in crude oil futures! I've read through several of the 'energy' threads here and some of the associated links but could not find an answer to my question.

I have been trading equity and interest rate options for several years but this is my first crude oil trade.

A couple of weeks ago I bought several CFD contracts for the Feb US crude oil contract and paid $41.50. This traded down to the $35 area, and due to the expiration of the contract, my broker (CMC Markets) rolled my position into the Mar contract. Thus for now I have incurred a $6.50 loss on each contract. The Mar future is trading around $42.

What explains the $7 difference between the Feb and the Mar contract?
What expains the $3-$4 difference between the Mar and Apr contract?

Is the price difference essentially a time value component of the futures' value just as options contain time value that decays away? In other words, if (theoretically) nothing happened at all concerning oil supply and oil demand for the next month, would the value of the Mar contract also move from $42 to $35 over that 1 month?

Or is the difference in value simply reflecting the expected spot prices for the expiration dates for the Mar and Apr contracts?

If traders are anxious to dump the front-month contract close to expiration, is it generally a good idea to roll from the front-month to the next month several days ahead of the expiration date - (OMG I have really given away money on this oil trade well (n))

Any comment would be very appreciated. Let me know if I need to clarify my question further if i need to supply more information about the trade.

George

As energytrade says in this thread, rising inventories are the main reason for the large price difference