[PORTFOLIO] What it takes to have it

• Welcome to the Darwinex Forums, these forums are member-run and managed by CavaliereVerde. Member-run forum rules may differ from the site guidelines.

FXforfun

25 36
Hi,
I'm not an investor, I tried it but after some months seeing my portfolio investment performance much poorer than my own Darwins I let it go. If I lose, I'll do it by my own merits :)

I've been trading for years. Never successful I admit. But what is the definition of successful? Well, that would be another post, I'm not successful by my own standards though I put my skin on my strategies.
But what does it take for a Darwin to have the key? When you say. That's really good. Not about searching the holy grial but just genuin Good.

I have a scientific mind and translate it on everything I do. That's why I'm a quant trader. I need measures, facts to classify what's good, bad or better. So here, as investors, what do you look at? The D-Score, drawdawns, Return, profit,...?

I read the website of a Darwin provider UYZ. I think that's one of the bests, and looks like a humble guy, which is better yet! I saw something I didn't thought before. It was something like; He's been trading for a living for 7 years, entering now on his 8th. He's not 100% sure yet to be consistent because you'll be able to really measure the trader after his 8 years track.
So, in other words: After this year he'll be able to feel confident enough to know that he has what it takes to trade.

And now, in my quant mind. How do you measure it? Just beeing green? Not good enough beeing green/flat. Having a track record of 8 years? Would be the same as to say that you can't measure it enough because after 8 years is evident if you have it or not. Some kind of statistical significance? Based on what; trades, months, both?