Poking the ER2

jessop

Hi,

This is the kick off entry for my new journal and I’ll explain why I’m doing it later:

Background

Intraday ER2 Futures Trader – ER2 clearly the best ‘bang per buck’ contract around – certainly for my edge
I spent 9 months developing a trading plan & charting techniques and have been live since 1/5/05
Self taught (read all TA & psychological books etc)
Don’t use any indicators – just price, volume, and 3 ‘secret weapon’ data feeds
I have an eight page trading plan with supporting risk/reward analysis spreadsheet
I do end of day detailed trading logs & an end of week summary analysis weeks trading
I have the luxury of working part-time in the mornings (in the UK) and have my afternoons free for trading the US market 5 days a week
I have an understanding wife who trusts me to do what is in our collective best interest
I have a reasonable account size – but I have limited myself to 1 contract until I can ‘consistently’ hit the daily targets in the trading plan
I use Esignal (various 1 & 2min charts), IB & Ninja – have a backup broadband service and a full office setup
I am a very positive person and my main driver behind trading is financial independence.
Mark Douglas’s ‘Trading in the Zone’ is my main emotional trading reference.
I’m a typical Jung type INTJ personality…if I didn’t feel I could make a good living trading I wouldn’t be here today.

Anyway….to cut to the chase ….the reason for the Journal

I don’t normally go for chatrooms or forum posting…..however:

1) I have a trading plan and charting techniques that give me a great edge…..but I am the weakest link …….and I need to kick my a**e into gear….my current trading problems are the usual ‘fear’ based hesitation & cutting profits short etc

2) So my plan is to write down each day – the times my signals were triggered and where my entries and exits were and a little trade commentary on my emotions etc