Moving Averages and MACD working opposite?

Hope this is the right forum guys, if not apologies. I'm watching the FTSE with 5 min candles and simple Moving Averages (4, 9 and 19 - Am trying out a technique I've read) and std MACD and histogram settings of 26, 12 and 9.

With it, every time the SP rises, the MACD crosses down below the signal line (when I expect it to cross up over it, not everytime i know, but the majority), it just seems to go the complete opposite direction. Am I doing something wrong please?

I've done 2 x screenshots and saved to a word doc, hopefully its uploaded

Dont all shoot me down, I'm still fairly new to this :)

Attachments

• MA and MACD opposite.docx
    532.2 KB · Views: 365
If you're going to use the MACD, familiarize yourself with Gerald Appel's books as he created the MACD in the first place (start with Winning Market Systems: 83 Ways to Beat the Market). Otherwise you could be futzing with this for years. As many do.

Db

Hi Newspreadbetter,
I've had a quick look at your Word doc. and it doesn't look right to me at all. Unfortunately, I'm unable to say what's wrong with it though - but my guess is that you're settings aren't right. If you have an account manager with Cap' Spreads - email them and ask them. In fact, even if you don't have an account - and you're just using their demo account - do it anyway. It's a good test of their customer service - as they ought to jump through hoops to please a prospective customer!

Attached below is a M5 chart of the FTSE (no M10 option it appears with this free provider). Even so, you can see it looks rather different to your chart.
Tim.

MACD.png

If you're going to use the MACD, familiarize yourself with Gerald Appel's books as he created the MACD in the first place (start with Winning Market Systems: 83 Ways to Beat the Market). Otherwise you could be futzing with this for years. As many do.

Db