Keeping it simple

jfink

I've been trading in my spare time for several years and so far without consistent results. Over time I've tried many differnt methods from moving averages to many of the popular indicators (i.e. stochastics, RSI, momentum, etc.).

I can't help but think it really just boils to identifying support and resistence and placing your trades and stops off of these levels.

Could it really be as simple as nothing more than a chart of the price action and volume, no more no less? I think I've been making this more difficult than it needs to be.

Any thoughts?

I've been trading in my spare time for several years and so far without consistent results. Over time I've tried many differnt methods from moving averages to many of the popular indicators (i.e. stochastics, RSI, momentum, etc.).

I can't help but think it really just boils to identifying support and resistence and placing your trades and stops off of these levels.

Could it really be as simple as nothing more than a chart of the price action and volume, no more no less? I think I've been making this more difficult than it needs to be.

Any thoughts?

Absolutely. I spent years looking for the holy grail by way of indicators etc.I use SR area and trendlines. The only hard part is the money management and discipline.Welcome to the site

Last edited:

Any thoughts?

Many of us who started out, in the dim and distant past,used all sorts of methods, apart from Rune stones, to find the "Holy Grail." Eventually, many of us found that "simple" works and that a lot of the battle for profitability is fought inside your head. Have a look at James16 over at ForexFactory -http://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=2331
and read the likes of Flasheart above who post live trades (join in too if you like, I'm sure you would be welcome.:)