Interactive Brokers TWS Hotkey and Chart trader Button Setup Questions

Midnitewolf

Hi All,

I am very new to day trading but trying to make a go of it to replace my job that I lost to COVID and am need of some help and advice. I have just transitioned from TD Ameritrade to Interactive Broker to try to make a go of it on a superior platform for day trading. Right now I am trying to finalize my Hotkey/Chart Trader Button Layouts to do a few things that I think you should be able to do but can't figure out if you can with TWS or not so I have a few questions if anyone can help.

1) Is there a way to set up hot key that will let me scale out of a open position, i.e. sell 25% of 50% of a position (I think the answer is no for Interactive Brokers but want to confirm.)?

2) Is there a way to set up the default order entry to select the current bid/ask price when you select a limit order? What I am looking to do is reduce the steps buy/sell pre-market and have my limit orders automatically buy at Ask +offset and Sell at Bid + Offset to kind of mimic a market order. For example, set the limit order and the quantity and just click the buy or sell button and have it automatically buy or sell at Ask/Bid + an offset to allow for slippage. ( I have seen an example of this being a setting in DAS or some other trading platform but can't find this option in Interactive Broker so trying to confirm if doing something like this even exists in TWS).