How often do you check your trades?

NickElliott

Hi All,

I've started with a dummy account trading US stocks and although I should be swing trading I can't seem to stop checking the positions every 30 mins ( list of positions are here www.stockabull.com)! Is this a Nebie thing or does everyone like to keep an eye on their trades throughout the day?

I've been told I only need to spend 4-5 hours a week swing trading but I would say I've spent that time this week just looking at the trades I've taken... how does this compare with other newbs and more importantly - any pros!?

Aren't these rather basic questions for a coach/trainer to be asking?

Or are you a newbie?

Or are you confused?

I'm a newbie, not a trainer. Starting to learn and do homework now and looking to start with a live account in Jan 2011.

Aren't these rather basic questions for a coach/trainer to be asking?

Or are you a newbie?

Or are you confused?

Your profile identifies you as a coach/trainer.

Which is it: Newbie or coach/trainer?

Newbie - have seen the error and think I've changed it in my profile...
Hi Nick,
Welcome to the site.
No, you're still listed as a vendor of a commercial website. You need to go to 'Edit Profile' in your 'User CP'. Scroll down to 'Vendors' and make sure nothing is listed - then the vendor icon will be removed. All this assumes you're not flogging anything via the site you've linked in your posts. If you are, you'll need to remove the link or hand over a large wedge to the T2W advertising dept'.
;)
Tim.

To answer the question, checking trades a lot is often a newbie concept. The good traders take the emotion out of it. My suggestion is to check out some money management articles that offer basic advice so you know what to look out for when emotion comes into play.

I think all of us at some point or another fall victim to this. If we didn't love trading starting out, then why would we do it?

Hi Nick,