How can you let your winners run ?

Grey1

Every one tells you exit is the most important part of trading .. let your profit run ..

I tell to this people you are spot on I agree but gimme that crystal ball then i will let it run ..

SO what is the crystal ball of trading ?

What are the techniques ?

I invite traders to contribute

grey1

Grey1 said:

Every one tells you exit is the most important part of trading .. let your profit run ..

I tell to this people you are spot on I agree but gimme that crystal ball then i will let it run ..

SO what is the crystal ball of trading ?

What are the techniques ?

I invite traders to contribute

grey1

As we don't have crystal balls, I guess the best time to exit would be when the move shows exhaustion , I am guessing we could use Macci to tell us when the trend is over ?

Ian

I have very little knowledge of trading individual stocks. However, my little experience of trading $DJI for 10 months tell me the following:

1. A trend starts in Lower Timeframe (LT). A winning trade may be prematurely exited once there is an exhaustion in this timeframe. But this lower level TF trend exhaustion sometimes open the way for further moves in Higher Timeframes (HT) that's when a winning trade should be allowed to continue its future path until there is a rejection at an even higher level TF.

It does not matter what indicators are being used as long as higher timeframes analysis is kept in mind.

If I am following an UP trend in 5min, I will look for Long entry/ confirmation in higher timeframes ( 30min/ 1hr chart) & Short for the reverse. This multi TF progression analysis should be done until there is a FALSE signal is found. 5min > 1 hour > Daily > Weekly.