FTSE 100 March question.

heatseeker

Hello all,

I'm a total beginner and have just bought "FTSE 100 March" on Capitalspreads. Will my position automatically be closed at the end of February? Will i be able to "extend" it?

The reason I have bought March vs daily Rolling was that I wouldn't have to pay any daily fees to keep the position open. Is that the real benefit are there any more and also disadvantages?

Your reply is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Last edited:
Spreadbetting quarterlies are usually based off the underlying future, so my guess is that the IG future will expire on 18th March, although the info tab on the particular market you've bought will have the details. Unless you've bought the 'daily future' which if IIRC is a daily market from IG based on the quarterly future and you get stung for a rollover each day (although I guess the spread is tighter intra-day). I think you'll need to manually roll-over the quarterly into June as it's a different underlying but again the info tab will tell you the details. Without wanting to sound patronising, isn't it a good idea to check this stuff before you open your bet?

Thanks a lot for your reply Jack o'Clubs. I actually meant to say Capitalspreads instead of IG index (I've corrected my post now). See how much of a beginner I am.

You're right. I should've checked before jumping in, but you know how it is with laziness and greed.

The Daily's financing made me jump to quarterly futures instead as I'm still learning but I was afraid that my position would automatically be closed out when the time was up. But you've now enlightened me that it can be rolled over and of course with a financing fee. Thanks again for your help.