Forex charts

Edinburgh Bear

Hi,
I'm new to forex trading and I'm looking to find a web-site that has free charts I can access.
For stocks I use bigcharts.com. I found this excellent when first starting. Is there anything similar for forex?

Hi EB

Take a look at www.fxstreet.com and also www.dailyfx.com

These sites are fine for someone who is just starting out and getting used to how datafeeds work etc. However, I strongly advise you to be wary about making technical based judgements on free charts.

If you use Bigcharts, then use them! eg type in symbol cur_eurusd or cur_gbpusd etc.
regards, G McA

If you go to cmsforex.com, you can download their trade station. Excellent free charts.

MetaTrader 4 shows volume for forex charts.
Where do they get this info from and is it reliable to trade from?
If there is no one central market for forex, then this volume must be only part of the total volume traded.

GJ

no doubt, inparticular for the longer-term position holder, so its not all doom and gloom, and I also started out on free charts myself.

Camelot

Iam not so sure, I would assume its likely to be the sum total of the broker's order's they recieve whilst the charts are being broadcast. I would guess that this is along the lines of using the volume from one ECN eg. the island book, to determine the overall volume traded for an individual stock. In otherwords not likely to be 100% reliable, but to be honest I really dont know where they get their volume data from, Iam only making a considered guess.

GammaJammer, agree with what you say regarding volume. If charting packages had direct access to EBS volumes then it would give an excellent indication of changes in daily volumes. But I don't think this is the case, maybe someone from one of the chart websites might like to comment.