fishhero's blog

fishhero

Trading Plan - part 1

Trading Plan – May 2009

Why I want to be a trader?
I want to be a trader because:
1.I want to be responsible for how much money I make and lose. I want my salary to be a direct reflection of my effort and ability.
2. I want to know more about myself and improve myself. Being successful at trading means successfully knowing myself and continually analysing and improving myself. Trading results are a direct measurement of my progress.
3. I enjoy the challenge of being in the small minority of people who succeed.
4.The financial possibilities are limitless.
5.My dream is to travel and experience the world. Therefore, I need the freedom to work when I want, where I want.
6.I enjoy it.
7.I'm interested in the markets and I enjoy reading about the fundamentals.

Outline
I'm a discretionary trader. My style is mildly conservative and I don't want to sit in front of a screen all day picking off fluctuations. I believe the real gains are in the longer term price moves, so I'll trade primarily from the weeklies and dailies.

However, while I'm pleased with the progress of my patience, if I just trade weeklies/dailies there's too much temptation for me to force trades that I shouldn't make. So, I'll drop to dailies/hourlies when there are no trades in the longer time frames.

Ultimately, I want to trade the US markets because that's where everything happens. The rest of the world just follows what happened there yesterday. But the time difference makes it impossible for me to trade hourlies, so I will only trade the S&P 500 ETF (eventually I'd like to trade with spreadbetting, but at the moment the margin requirement is too big for my trades) on the weeklies/dailies and I will trade FX from weekly to hourly. I'll only trade the major pairings involving GBP and JPY, and EUR/USD, because they interest me the most.