First Turtle Trade on Forex

Snowyskater

I am just starting out and am following the Turtle Rules within the forex markets (mainly EURUSD) on a demo account at present.

So last week I set up my indicators on Tradestation chart showing 20 day (end of day) breakouts of high and lows and low and behold on 11/12 I get a new indicator showing a 20 day high, so I go long for 1 lot (L@ 1.33475) and place my stop loss as per the rules. Needless to say the charts go through the roof until the 18/12 it reaches a high of 1.4591 generating a profit of approx. $10.5k (demo account remember - and boy was I wishing I had done it with real money!). However this looks like it has swung over half the distance of the 12 month low to high in a little over a week.

My dimela is that the Turtle rules say that the true exit for the 20 day breakout strategy is when the price falls to the 10 day low when you are in a long trade, however this price movement has been so radical that to follow that rule would mean a loss at present. As I write (over the weekend) the price has fallen to 1.3905 still leaving a (virtual) $5.5k profit - am I better to take the profit and close the trade or stick to the rules. My thinking at present is that I entered a trade not in a trend, but a volitile spike (and probably got lucky).

Has anybody got any thoughts on this, and also trading the Turtle rules in the Forex markets?

Any comments would be greatly appriciated.

I have read, and reread the literature and no they don't. They add to positions, but because they are working to long trends rather than scalps they are prepared to loose upto 30-40% profits in order to hit a long running trend.

ok.. doesn't look like a very attractive system to me :)

maybe good for huge accounts, not me... I prefer to bank partial profits and run with "free trades"

"free trades" is the name of the game IMO.

Has anybody got any thoughts on this, and also trading the Turtle rules in the Forex markets?