Do I Go For It?

Sang Froid

This is probably only a question I can answer myself, but would be nice to at least hear opinions from others, after all this is what forums were made for right?

I've been trading for around three years. In that time I've trudged the same old path I believe most if not all successful traders have to follow. I've lost money, blown accounts, wrestled long and hard with my emotions, traded god knows how many systems and strategies out there. I've threatened to give it all up in despair only to realise how much I love trading, I'm sure many of you know this story.

I reached the point where I could breakeven on a consistent basis, and this was the first break through. A bit of tweaking with my trading style and I'm now at the point where I am making small yet consistent gains.

Here in lies the problem. Impatience. I have a very small account, £700 to be exact. Now I know how many stories go from here, over leveraging, over trading kills accounts very quickly. "Never risk more than 2% of your account" I can hear so many saying.

Well I say to hell with it. £700 is f**k all in the grand scheme of things, it's not money I can afford to lose per se, but it's not exactly my rent money I'm playing with. If I can get up to £10 grand in a fairly short space of time I can go part time at work and concentrate on trading. I'm not talking £10 a pip or anything but this whole 2% business with a small account is a hullava frustration.

Without going into too much detail I trade off an H1 chart, I have between 2 and 5 really decent setups a week. My initial S/L is 25 but very often I'm out before then if the trade is going against me. I place two trades on entry, one with a fixed T/P of 25, if this is hit I move the second stop up to B/E and then look for a target according to my strategy, sometimes it can be as much as a further 50-75 pips other times it's at the same level as the first trade.

Here's my thinking from now on: